Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD Celebrates Yes I Can Award Winners [2]

CCSD Celebrates Yes I Can Award Winners [2]

The Cherokee County School District is celebrating its 2022 Yes I Can Award winners.

The Yes I Can Awards celebrate the achievements of children and youth with exceptionalities.  The awards encourage students to seek their highest potential, and increase public awareness of the abilities, aspirations, and personal qualities of those with disabilities.  

Each CCSD elementary school is invited to select one student to receive the Yes I Can Award based achievement during the year in one or more of the following categories: academics, the arts, school and community, self-advocacy and technology.     

This year’s honorees are: Arnold Mill ES, Pius Ilukhor; Avery ES, Brody Smith; Ball Ground ES STEM Academy, Dallas Conner; Bascomb ES, Max Morris; Boston ES, Chase Evans; Carmel ES, Roland Heslep; Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, Kaylee Morrison; Clayton ES, Chloe Campbell-Frost; Free Home ES, Nathaly Flores; Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy, Miguel Ramirez Garcia; Hickory Flat ES, Irvin Zuniga-Garcia; Holly Springs ES STEM Academy, Alyssa Lowe; Indian Knoll ES, Danna Hernandez-Membreno; Johnston ES, Harrison Conley; Knox ES STEM Academy, Samantha Smerker; Liberty ES, Brianna Monson; Little River ES, Jacob Myers; Macedonia ES, Jack Smith; Mountain Road ES, Taylor Sleeman; Oak Grove ES STEAM Academy, Annalyse Ghorley; R.M. Moore ES STEM Academy,
Mason Coker; Sixes ES, Lilliana Cobb; Woodstock ES, Paulo Mendoza Morales.

The Cherokee County School Board and Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower celebrated the honorees at this month’s School Board meeting.  

“The celebration of these award-winning students is a highlight of the year, as we congratulate them for overcoming obstacles and succeeding,” Dr. Hightower said.  “The pride they feel in their accomplishments is visible, as it is in the faces of their parents and their teachers.  We’re so proud of each of you and can’t wait to see all that you do next year!”